Yeah. Nah.

I’ve just been admonished by Pam B, for not paying enough attention to my WordPress page. Fair comment. Between my new (temporary) job, studies, two sick girls and family life in general, something had to give, and that was the writing. But I haven’t abandoned it altogether.

Below is a recent entry of mine in a local flash fiction contest. It is an exercise in conversation, and in Enzed idioms. Needless to say it didn’t come anywhere. Never mind.

“What does that even mean?”

He had a ponytail, a backpack and an American accent; maybe California, definitely west coast.

We were waiting for our buses in a nearly empty station, so we had plenty of time to kill and got to talking. The conversation had started with gidday and meandered from there.

I shrugged. “Yeah. And nah.”

“Do all you guys say it?”

Youse.” I corrected him.

“You… what?”

“Youse. If it’s more than one guy, it’s youse.”

“”You” doesn’t have a plural.”

“It does here.”

Maybe California scrubbed at his face. “Whatever. I mean, geeday I get. That makes sense.”

“What makes sense?”

“You know. Geeday, like in Geeday mate.”

“We’re not bloody Australian. Just gidday.”

“Gedday.”

“Gidday.”

“Gudday.”

“Close enough.”

“But yeah, nah. It’s like you…” and he grinned, “sorry, youse can’t up your minds.”

“Well, did it occur to you that maybe we’re just being polite?”

“Huh? How so?”

“Well, take us right now. Here we are, having a conversation.”

“Yep.”

“And you ask me a question.”

“I get that.”

“Well, first thing I’m going to do is acknowledge you. Yeah.”

“Right.”

“Next, I’m going to answer your question. Nah.”

“Ahh… okay.”

“Then, maybe I’ll change my mind. So, yeah again. Yeah. Nah. Yeah.”

“Tell me you’re just pulling my leg.”

“Yeah. Nah.”

“So, let’s see what we’ve got. There’s gudday, there’s youse, and there’s yeah, nah.”

“Yeah.”

“Is there anything else I should know?”

“Nah.”

For a moment he was silhouetted by a pair of headlights, as a bus grumbled and wheezed to a stop outside. Maybe California picked up his backpack. “Well that’s me,” he said and shook my hand. “Y’all have a good day, now.”

I raised my chin in reply, “Churr, bro.”

11 thoughts on “Yeah. Nah.

  1. pambrittain

    This is great, Patrick. I bet it rated above a bunch of the others.

    Congrats on the new job even though it’s temporary. Sorry to hear your kids are sick—hope you don’t catch it.

    Reply
    1. Anonymous

      Thanks Pam.
      The girls aren’t too bad; just the usual winter sniffles. This didn’t even make the long list, but it was fun to write 🙂
      That’s what it is all about, really.

      Reply
    2. pifflem Post author

      Sorry Pam. I was certain I’d replied to you. I guess WP doesn’t like comments left by mobile phones… Thanks for that. The kids aren’t too bad, just the usuale winter maladies, and the job is keeping me busy, which is good… nice to be needed 🙂
      Hope things are gong well with you.

      Reply
  2. writingessentialeditor

    Geez, we are all in a sorry state. I have been flat on my back with pneumonia for the last week. Sorry, if I have not been attending to the site. Hope your girls get better soon and luck comes your way with your job search. Being out of work is a tough row to hoe. Keep your spirits up. -Greg.

    Date: Wed, 18 Jun 2014 10:42:26 +0000 To: writingessential@outlook.com

    Reply
    1. pifflem Post author

      Bloody hell, Greg, you should stay in bed, mate. That’s got to be pretty miserable.
      Yeah, nah, all is well down here, and I will be giving this page some more attention.
      Hope you get better soon.

      Reply
    1. pifflem Post author

      You can’t be ignoring yours as much as I am mine, Sheila.
      Had no time to look at it for ages. Coming back is like seeing an old friend… especially now that my Gather page seems to have finally, properly died 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

